EDU 6120 – Week 4 “Learning Illustrated”

This week in my Severe Disabilities class we talked about positive behavioral support (PBS), and while reading the papers for our EDU 6120 Foundations class a topic came to me from page 4 of the Session 4 Readings: Plutarch and Quintilion “The Education of Children” by Plutarch (46-120 AD):

12. This also I assert, that children ought to be led to honorable practices by means of encouragement and reasoning, and most certainly not by blows or ill-treatment, for it surely is agreed that these are fitting rather for slaves than for the free-born; for so they grow numb and shudder at their tasks, partly from the pain of the blows, partly from the degradation. Praise and reproof are more helpful for the free-born than any sort of ill-usage, since the praise incites them toward what is honorable, and reproof keeps them from what is disgraceful.

Just to think, they knew that over a millennium ago. Also in “Educational Reform” by Arthur Ellis,”Demonstrate caring attitudes toward students (p. 10)” and, “11. Good teachers are thoughtful and reflective about their practice.”

Both of these excerpts reminded me of not only using PBS in the classroom, but when I get frustrated with my own children. I don’t use corporal punishment at home, so why would someone use it at work. I need to remember that all behavior is communication, and what is it that I want to communicate?

I was pretty excited for this week’s illustrative assignment, and my mind swirled at the possibilities of elaborate pages of images, but in the end I fell back to the first rule of graphics, “less is more.” I remember in elementary school, the principal had a paddle he called “the attitude adjuster,” but I renamed it a bit. Even though I never had to meet it, I hope it really is in retirement.

spare the rod? (click to enlarge)

This entry was posted in L1: Learner centered, L2: Classroom/school centered, L3: Family/neighborhood centered, P2: Enhanced by reflective, collaborative, professional growth-centered practice, P3: Informed by legal and ethical responsibilities, S1 - Content driven, S2 - Aligned with curriculum standards and outcomes, S3: Integrated across content areas, T2: Intentionally planned, T3: Influenced by multiple instructional strategies, T4: Informed by technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to EDU 6120 – Week 4 “Learning Illustrated”

  1. Chabot says:

    James,
    This is great. I really like how you related the two readings, as well as your personal life experience, to both classes and PBS-And so clearly. Your image is awesome, too. Less really is more here.

  2. slukej says:

    James,
    Great response to this week’s readings. I wonder how corporal punishment was EVER appropriate feedback! As I grow to understand positive behavior supports more and more, my awareness of other feedback grows. These appropriate models will become the norm through the actions of good teachers.

    Let us be good teachers!

  3. Lisa says:

    James,
    I like how you connected so many different aspects of our readings from both classes- not an easy thing to do. I figured you would have some sort of cool graphic. Good humour there. I can’t imagine the paddle is still used anymore, but I certainly remember corporal punishment in the school. My band teacher hit me on the head with his conducting stick and I saw stars. I’m not in favor of corporal punishment in the schools, but it did stop me from talking so much!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

