Module 7 – Organizing, Managing, One-to-One, Producing and Presenting

Our team workshop project really took off this week as we finished our syllabus, supplemental documents, and individual PowerPoint’s presentations aimed at the different phases of the class. I had never used PowerPoint before, so that was a good experience. It’s a highly intuitive program that has a lot of template designs that can make presentations look very professional. It was a huge milestone for the project, and the team really pulled through and it looks great.

This week’s module offered several different hardware and software options that could be used in the classroom. It was interesting because material really focused on teaching kids with technology, and it showed a lot of pros and cons concerning the technology. The information reaffirmed by mindset that technology such as personal laptops can be a huge asset to students who have guidance, and want to explore the positive attributes of having personal hardware. The problem comes when those resources are abused. I read a story about schools pulling their laptop programs due to concerns of lack of results, and misuse of resources, which seemed rampant. It seems they rushed into the digital age without preparing the staff or students adequately, such as addressed in the articles “One-to-One Computing: Lessons Learned, and Pitfalls to Avoid,” and “K-12 Computing Blueprint.”

I consider myself a fairly tech savvy individual, but I am by no means an expert. The question I have is what kind of security and restraints are there that can be implemented with the laptops to curtail misuse? In the next couple of years I will need to know what I can do to make the computers safe for my classroom, and also for my home computers so I can direct my kids into the new frontier of the internet instead of the abyss.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Module 7 – Organizing, Managing, One-to-One, Producing and Presenting

  1. I too was curious about computer safety. I wonder if there is a way to only block parts of a website such as key word searches for bad things but still allowing good key word searches for sites such as Youtube.

  2. acreeden says:

    This is one of the areas that gets fuzzy. I think a lot of companies and school districts have implemented heavy firewalls with wide nets like “No games” or “no videos” or “no downloadables” which is a shame. As we’ve seen in this course, there are a lot of valuable games and videos. I think this is the easiest reaction as far as administration goes, but it’s not the most effective as far as using the internet as a teaching tool. In my mind, the best way to keep kids safe is to educate teachers and students both on what they should and should not be doing on school computers.

  3. James, just wait until you see the next version of PPT – it has a voice over feature that I think you’ll really like. Using SlideShare and Jing are other tools to help share your PPTs once you have a need to do that. Also, be sure to check out PresentationZen.com. The author is the guru of slideshow production. I try to read visit his site on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

