EDTC 6526, Module 6 – Math Modeling & TELA

I found several sites and program that I think will be useful to me especially in a special education classroom. The two main ones were “kidspiration,” and “Starfall.” While “kidspiration” looks to be a great learning tool I know there are obstacles when you have to find funding to buy software, and then getting privileges to install it in a classroom. That’s why I used “Starfall” as my TELA assignment. I like the idea of being to access it online, and it has a huge amount of content as well as variety available.

Some things that concern me are whether I will be able to access some of the software and websites that I want to try, and in the end how effective they will be. The main thing is to try them and see what works and what doesn’t, and then move on from there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to EDTC 6526, Module 6 – Math Modeling & TELA

  1. Hi,

    I read that you had some concerns about finding funding to purchase Kidspiration. On our website, we have several funding and grant options listed to help educators purchase the product. Please view these options at http://www.inspiration.com/Educators/Funding-Grants

    I hope that helps! Please let us know if you have any additional questions.

    Best,
    Sarah Cargill, Inspiration Software

    @InspirationSW, facebook.com/InspirationSoftware

  2. I definitely agree with trying lots of things and figuring out what kinds of models/sims/tools were beneficial to the students and “moving on.” It’s wise to remember that we aren’t just using technology for technology’s sake, it has to work for both teacher AND student! I remember some of the worst assignments at school were those that relied on outdated and largely ineffective technology that the teacher was bent on using.

    I remember in a home economics class each student, one by one, had to do a career research project using a computer program that, as far as we could tell, wanted nothing to do with career advice. I remember having to dutifully right down on my sheet that the computer thought my personal top three career choices were mortician, mortician, and mortician… How dreadful!

  3. I’m so glad you featured Starfall in your TELA. I enjoyed seeing so many different technologies and how they can be used. I agree with Tristan that it’s important to try new technology, but also know when it’s time to move on. I’m amazed at how many professors still use an overhead projector because they still have the slides for it. You should see students role their eyes when the projector is rolled out. Inevitably the evaluation comments center on the use of this “ancient” technology.

Leave a Reply

