SPU-EDTC 6536 – WebQuest in the SE classroom

In my weekly reflections I tend to observe how the modules could affect teaching in a special education environment, and I think WebQuest might be very useful in the SE classroom. This is a technology that can be adapted to different levels of learning, and SE has a variety of levels in every classroom. I also thing that Dodge (2007) has a point when he says ““authentic tasks are more engaging,” especially when one technique for the SE classroom is teaching real world lessons.
Though I think the internet can be a great tool I’m still a little reluctant to agree with his idea that “social interaction is more effective“(Dodge, 2007) when using WebQuest. I admit there are a lot of strengths using internet technologies as collaborative tools, but I’m not sold on the fact of it being more effective for social interaction. I’m still gaining knowledge about this subject, so until I try to implement a WebQuest lesson into a classroom, and see the results I’ll keep an open mind.

References:

Dodge, B. (2007) “What is WebQuest?” Instructional Technology Services SDSU. Retrieved from: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7UynehA_l0&feature=player_embedded

This entry was posted in S1 - Content driven, S3: Integrated across content areas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SPU-EDTC 6536 – WebQuest in the SE classroom

  1. I understand your reluctance to agree with Dodge’s comment. It goes against what many of us learned in school: don’t copy someone else’s work, show your own work. Dodge is implying that on our own we may not be as effective or learn as much as we could with a social interaction of a type. I don’t think he is advocating a form of group think, but rather proposing that we each bring something to the learning experience and together we can learn more with and from each other. Dodge’s comment is a good one for allowing me to play devil’s advocate.

  2. Sam says:

    Hello James,

    I agree with your comment that WebQuest is a technology which can be adapted to various levels of learning. Additionally, it appears that WebQuest can enhance learning for students who are less technology or subject matter proficient.

  3. acreeden says:

    James,
    I agree with what Lisa says above, and I think that the way that Dodge prefers to structure WebQuests where each student has a role to play, allows for a different level of social interaction in learning. Notice, I said different, not better. With each student completing similar and concurrent projects, sharing their observations and helping each other to understand, WebQuests create a different and more social environment than the traditional lecture class or individual-project-and-presentation-type research project.

    • beckerjames says:

      Hi Aubrey & Lisa,
      I guess if you compare it to being in a lecture hall that would be a valid point. Early on in college I had a couple of large lecture based classes, but at art school and TESC I was exposed to a more collaborative group oriented curriculum. At Evergreen the main classroom environment focused on “seminar,” which promoted active learning. Here’s a quote from the TESC website “We believe it is not enough for students to receive information passively in a large lecture hall. At Evergreen, students discuss ideas in seminars, write about ideas in collaborative and individual assignments, explain ideas in presentations and practice applying ideas in laboratories and workshops. They challenge their own and others’ ideas,” so when I think of “social interaction is more effective“(Dodge, 2007) then I cannot fully agree with that interaction being online. Maybe I should have been clearer on my initial post, and stated my rationale.
      Thanks for your comments!
      James

Leave a Reply

