SPU-EDTC 6536 – Module 1 Reflections-Technology & SE

After finishing week one of Instructional Technology and Information Management the main thing I learned was that I am not even scratching the surface in my knowledge and implementation of technological resources available. Several of the Module 1 readings and videos including “Concept Maps: An Introduction” and “Google Docs in Plain English” were good examples of tools that could be applicable in most classrooms. Google Docs could be useful teaching collaborative strength, and Concept Maps are especially appealing to people who consider themselves visual learners (me for instance). The potential for a lot of these tools is exciting and intimidating at the same time.
As far as things that I’m having problems with, well, there is quite a bit, and hopefully as class progresses I’ll get a better handle on most of it. The biggest factor is just figuring out which tools to use, or not. There is such an abundance of information, websites, applications, and technologies that I feel overwhelmed with trying to grasp it much less apply it to my needs. Specifically when what tools are going to be applicable when I’m in an SE classroom? Are concept maps to complicated? Do I try the ones I think could benefit the students, and see how well they react to them?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SPU-EDTC 6536 – Module 1 Reflections-Technology & SE

  1. Hi James,

    As a Special Education Paraeducator myself, I see the struggle with how to best implement assistive technology. I believe a lot of it has to do with the age group you work with and what disabilities a give child has. A child with a leaning disorder is different from one with a physical handicap and their needs are very different. Something to think about.

  2. I don’t think you are alone in your feeling of not having even scratched the surface! My head spins when I try to think of WHAT to use and HOW to use it. It’s sort of a microcosm of society and technology in general; our technology seems to outrun our ability to truly understand its implications.

  3. Dr. J says:

    James – Just a quick comment to let you know I’m subscribed to your bPortfolio in Google Reader, enjoyed reading your first module reflection, and look forward to reading your future course reflections. ~ Dr. J

Leave a Reply

